The Search Continues…..

My search for a job, any job (one that pays more than minimum wage, and one that pays more than my unemployment compensation benefits) continues….I’ve been applying for all types of jobs, not just writing, editing, copyediting jobs, and I’m still hearing crickets in response. Now I’m going to try a new approach – I’m going to apply for adjunct teaching jobs at the community college level. My goal is to become a college professor, but many 4 year colleges and universities want their professors to have a Ph.D. (which is my next step in 2013), and years of classroom collegiate teaching experience. At the adjunct level in community colleges, they’re more willing to hire someone with a M.A. and less experience, so I’ve decided to alter my job search approach.

Last Friday, I went to my local CareerLink Office and printed out a list of every community college in the United States and the U.S. territories (I never realized how many community colleges were out there). I also began printing out job applications from community colleges by state. Right now, I have applications from Alabama and Georgia printed out. If I can figure out how to add a photo to this blog, I’ll take a picture of the massive pile of applications I have. Thank goodness CareerLink has free printing for job searches, or I’d go even broker than I already am trying to buy toner cartridges, smh. I’m still going to apply for other jobs, but I’m not sure if I’ll get any calls.

One of the most frustrating aspects of being unemployed is trying to figure out what these Human Resource reps and hiring managers want. It;s as if they have some unknown algorithm that weeds out applicants before they even have a chance to be seen or heard. What I really find frustrating is that when I first started my undergraduate academic career in 2005, every time I applied for a job and had what I thought was a successful interview, I would be denied the job because of my lack of a Bachelor’s degree. Now, I have a Bachelor’s degree and I’m two weeks away from my Master’s degree, even landing an interview is an impossibility. I’m trying to stay optimistic, but it’s getting harder ad harder to do so, as I feel as if I’m running out of options. I was even thinking of changing my last name on my resume, just to see if having a different surname would open some doors. What does it take to find a job? I’m seriously thinking a posting a “rogues list” of companies that I have sent my resume to and have either received a rejection or no response. In the past week alone, I’ve submitted over 100 resumes online, and not a single phone call.  I’m so stressed over this, I’m physically sick most days.

Is there an end in sight?

~ by scholarlymama71 on April 30, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
