Are Human Resource Staffers the Devil Incarnate?

In March of 2011, I found out that my full-time, grant-funded job at a community college was being eliminated because of a reduction in funding from the state (Thank you, Governor Tom Corbett). Since that time, I estimate I have submitted over two thousand online and print applications for employment, yet I can count on one hand the number of job interviews I have had. I have yet to receive any job offers. I’ve read a lot of articles about employers not wanting to hire the long-term unemployed because the perception is that someone who has been out of work for 3 months is somehow damaged goods and is therefore unemployable. Conversely, someone who is currently working is more likely to be hired. Seriously?

The idea that my resume is being tossed in the trash because I lost my job nearly a year ago through no fault of my own is despicable, and anyone who engages in this practice should be fired from their cushy HR job so they can have a taste of what it feels like to be at the mercy of others. 

IMO, there are certain kinds of people that I deem the lowest forms of human life: child molesters, bigots, mass murderers, etc. I’m adding Human Resource staff to that list because what they are doing to the long-term unemployed is pretty devastating. 

   

~ by scholarlymama71 on June 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
