What I Find Ironic About Penn State University Hiring

For over a year, I’ve applied for numerous positions with Penn State University, and I’ve never even so much as had an interview. What I have noticed about their hiring practices is that when it comes to professional positions (i.e. jobs that require a college degree), they only hire alumni; when it comes to jobs such as housekeeping, food service, facilities, etc., they’re willing to hire non-alumni. Since I earned my Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees from universities other than Penn State, I guess I have zero chance of being interviewed, much less hired. 

What I find so horribly ironic is that I am a college-educated woman without a criminal history, and the Human Resources department ad hiring managers at Penn State University feel I’m not even deserving of an interview or a job because my diplomas were not conferred by PSU; yet these are the same people that hired and retained that pedobear Jerry Sandusky. Nice, huh? 

At this point, I’m going to stop applying for jobs at PSU. Not only is it an exercise in futility, but with the Sandusky trial  going on, and finding out that the administration knew what he was up to and turned a blind eye, as far as I’m concerned, Penn State is damaged beyond repair. I wouldn’t want to have them listed on my resume as an employer, and I’m relieved my college diplomas aren’t from that awful place either. The Middle States Commission on Higher Education needs to seriously consider revoking PSU’s accreditation. Maybe if those arrogant Human Resource and hiring managers at PSU had a taste of unemployment, they’ll be a little more humble when they have to look for a job and find that doors to employment are being shut in their faces. 

~ by scholarlymama71 on June 13, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
